Pricing guide

AI receptionist costs in the UK: what you actually pay

Compare UK AI receptionist bills at 25, 50, 100 and 250 calls, with published rates, booking restrictions and the costs a starting price leaves out.

Provider prices and plan boundaries checked 6 September 2026. Worked examples are calculations, not customer bills.

A starting price does not tell you what an AI receptionist will cost. You need the allowance, the excess rate and the cheapest plan that can complete the job. Appointment booking alone can change which tier you need.

At 100 calls a month, IONOS's 30-call plan calculates to £73.30 excluding VAT. Its 100-call plan is £69 excluding VAT. The cheaper headline produces the larger bill. The calculations below show where that happens and where a flat plan makes sense.

Published UK AI receptionist prices

Published monthly prices checked 6 September 2026. Tax treatment is stated separately below.
ProviderMonthly priceWhat is meteredDecision to check
Moneypenny AIFrom £25Full allowance and excess rates need a quotePrice the human fallback you need
IONOS£39 / £69 / £9930 calls / 100 calls / unlimited callsCalendar booking starts on the £69 plan
Sayora£49 early accessUnlimited minutes, subject to fair useInbound AI; no live call transfer
Jodie£49 / £99 / £199Unlimited minutes across these tiersBooking and transfers start at £99; Zapier at £199
ARROWFrom £99150 minutes includedObtain higher-usage pricing before comparing a busy month
BookedSolid£99 for four practitionersPrice scales with practitioner countHealthcare workflows; unlimited inbound calls and messages

IONOS and BookedSolid exclude VAT. Jodie excludes applicable taxes. Confirm the VAT position and complete rate where the linked pricing page does not state it, including Sayora, Moneypenny and ARROW.

These are selected published plans, not the whole market. A lower starting price may exist elsewhere. For the workflow differences, use the UK AI receptionist comparison.

What you pay at different call volumes

These recurring subscription and call-usage totals exclude tax, phone-provider diversion charges and any separately charged extras. They ignore introductory discounts and assume every call counts towards the allowance. Sayora's examples assume ordinary use within its fair-use terms. The rows compare billing models, not equivalent features.

Calculated monthly bills using published IONOS and Sayora rates, checked 6 September 2026.
Answered callsIONOS: 30-call planIONOS: 100-call planIONOS: unlimited planSayora
25£39.00£69.00£99.00£49.00
50£48.80£69.00£99.00£49.00
100£73.30£69.00£99.00£49.00
250£146.80£127.50£99.00£49.00

The calculation is subscription + excess calls × excess rate. For IONOS's lower tiers, the excess rates are £0.49 and £0.39 respectively. Included calls are subtracted first; unused allowance never creates a credit.

For example, at 100 calls: £39 + (100 − 30) × £0.49 = £73.30.

At 50 calls, the 30-call plan is still slightly below Sayora's subscription. At 250 calls, the unlimited IONOS plan costs less than either of its lower tiers. That comparison changes if a lower plan cannot do the work: IONOS's £39 plan does not include the calendar booking shown on its £69 and £99 plans.

When duration changes the answer

For a minute-based plan, count duration as well as calls. ARROW's 150-minute allowance covers 50 calls lasting exactly three minutes each, or 150 calls lasting exactly one minute. Those are illustrative patterns, before any provider-specific rounding.

At 100 three-minute calls, you need 300 minutes. ARROW does not publish the higher-usage rate on the page checked, so an exact bill cannot be calculated from that page. Request it; do not extend the entry price as though the next 150 minutes were free.

For a flat plan, check what “unlimited” covers. It need not include multiple businesses, extra numbers, outbound calls, human answering or every integration. See Sayora's current AI receptionist capabilities and limits before treating the £49 plan as a substitute for a different service.

Send every supplier the same quote brief

Copy this into your enquiry, using one ordinary month and one credible peak month from your own call logs:

  • Calls to answer: ___ ordinary / ___ peak.
  • Total connected minutes: ___ ordinary / ___ peak.
  • Typical and longest call: ___ / ___.
  • Cover: overflow, after hours or all calls.
  • Required actions: message, confirmed booking, transfer or another task.
  • Calendars, numbers and locations: ___.
  • Cost wanted: first month, normal recurring month and peak month.

Ask the supplier to state the included allowance, rounding, excess rate, setup, required upgrades, tax, minimum term and cancellation notice. Include the cost your existing phone provider charges for diverting calls.

This prevents a common comparison error: pricing simple message-taking at one supplier against appointment booking and human fallback at another.

Add the cost of unfinished work

A useful enquiry contains enough information for someone to act. A booking must appear in the intended calendar, at an allowed time, with the caller told whether it is confirmed. A request your team still needs to approve belongs in a different column.

During a trial, record:

  • enquiries the team could act on without repairing the message;
  • appointments correctly confirmed in the calendar;
  • questions left for a person, with usable callback details;
  • staff time spent correcting errors and following up.

Use the same trial checklist for the two services you shortlist. A low subscription can be poor value if every message needs another call just to establish what happened.

First month, recurring month and first year

Keep three totals. The first month includes one-off setup and any temporary discount. The recurring month uses the normal subscription and usage. The first year adds the months you expect to buy, one-off charges and paid extras, taking any minimum commitment into account.

Do not multiply an introductory price by twelve unless it lasts twelve months. Do not price a new customer using a legacy rate.

Internal time belongs alongside the invoice, too. Use your own staff cost and actual time spent configuring, checking and correcting the service. There is no reliable market-wide saving to insert in place of your records.

Choose the model that completes your calls

A small allowance can work well for low, predictable use. Flat pricing is attractive when volume or duration varies. A specialist integration or a human fallback can justify a higher bill when it performs work your team would otherwise have to do.

If the caller needs a person immediately, compare human and hybrid answering costs. If a clear enquiry and a prompt callback are enough, test a flat AI plan against the same calls and compare the result as well as the invoice.

Questions answered

The things worth asking before you choose.

Clear answers, with no sales-script detour.

What is the cheapest AI receptionist in the UK?

Moneypenny advertises a £25 starting price among the providers checked here. Confirm the full rate, usage and required features before calling it the cheapest.

How much should a small business budget?

Published examples here run from £25 starting prices to £199 plans. Price the plan that handles your calls, including the booking features and usage you need.

Are AI receptionists priced per call or minute?

Both, alongside flat plans. IONOS has call allowances, ARROW includes minutes, and Sayora and Jodie offer unlimited minutes under their published terms.

Does a failed transfer cost money?

Provider rules differ. Ask whether failed transfers use the allowance and how short calls are treated.

Is VAT included?

IONOS and BookedSolid exclude VAT, and Jodie excludes applicable taxes. Where a page does not specify tax treatment, ask for it in writing.

Can AI replace a full-time receptionist?

It can cover repeatable phone work. It cannot do on-site tasks or replace human judgement where the conversation needs it. Compare tasks, not job titles.

Is a free trial enough?

Only if you test your real rules, missing information, failed bookings and simultaneous calls. A perfect demonstration call proves the service can handle a perfect call.

Why do some services cost more?

The difference can pay for usage, setup, specialist workflows, integrations or human back-up. Ask the provider to map it to work you need.

Evidence ledger

Every comparison has a checked source.

Provider facts and prices were checked directly. Follow a source before buying because plans can change.

  1. 01
    Sayora pricing

    Sayora, checked 6 September 2026. £49 monthly price, unlimited minutes, UK landline, 24/7 answering, summaries, booking, recordings, setup and contract terms.

  2. 02
    Moneypenny AI Receptionist

    Moneypenny, checked 6 September 2026. Advertised starting price, 24/7 answering, message taking, qualification, booking and human back-up.

  3. 03
    IONOS AI Receptionist

    IONOS, checked 6 September 2026. Published UK plan prices, included calls, overage rates, VAT position and tier features.

  4. 04
    Jodie UK pricing

    Jodie, checked 6 September 2026. Published UK plan prices, unlimited-minute position, applicable-tax exclusion, trial and month-to-month terms.

  5. 05
    ARROW pricing

    AI Phone Calls, checked 6 September 2026. £99 plan, 150-minute allowance, 24/7 answering, lead capture, notifications and higher-volume quote route.

  6. 06
    BookedSolid pricing

    BookedSolid, checked 6 September 2026. £99 excluding VAT example for four practitioners, pricing that scales with practitioner count, unlimited inbound calls and messages.